Rural Preferential Recruitment

Rural Preferential Recruitment (RPR) Is a merit based recruitment process for final year medical students who are interested in working in a rural setting. For further information please refer to the RPR procedure. PDF, 686.15 KB

Fact Sheet for Rural Preferential Recruitment

Fact sheet for 2019 clinical year PDF, 116.53 KB

Who is eligible to apply to RPR

  • All medical graduates are able to apply through the RPR pathway.

  • Offers will be made in the order outlined in the NSW Health priority List for Intern Recruitment


To apply for an RPR position you must:

  1. Complete an online application via the HETI website in the Prevocational Training Application Program (PTAP).
  2. Complete a separate application for each rural hospital you wish to work in. Apply to via NSW JMO eRecruit  by the closing date.
  3. Preference hospitals directly into their JMO eRecruit application and PTAP application by the closing date.

Offers are made based on the outcome of the preference matching process.

Interview Schedule for RPR hospitals for 2019

Interview schedule for 2018 from 18 June 2018 to 29 June 2018- RPR interview schedule PDF, 57.82 KB

The facilities that are participating in the RPR scheme for the 2019 clinical year are listed below. Click on each facility for information.

Albury Wodonga Health is under the jurisdiction of Victoria Health. As such, successful applicants will be employed under the Victorian award rather than the NSW award. For further information, please contact the hospital directly. (see right hand menu)