The BPT Networks

Each network is a group of training sites (comprising of metropolitan, outer-metropolitan and rural training sites) that operate together as part of a combined training program. There are eleven Basic Physician Training networks in NSW. These networks are endorsed by College, Health Department and Health Services and are supported by governance structures and dedicated staff. Each network has the same structure, including an NGC (Network Governance Committee) and specific network staff.

Each network has a Network Director of Physician Education (NDPE), an Education Support Officer (ESO) and each training site has one or more Directors of Physician Education (DPE).

For information on individual networks, contact the relevant network staff:

NetworkNetwork CompositionNetwork Director of Physician TrainingEducation Support Officer
Concord Concord, Canterbury, Blue Mountains, Tweed HeadsDr Anthony Linton
Emily Maroun
Dylan Higgs
P: 02 9767 8469
NepeanNepean, Ryde, Bathurst*, Tweed HeadsDr Alistair Abbott
Helen Wurth
P: 02 4734 2346
East Coast Medical

Prince of Wales, Sydney, Royal Hospital for Women, Port Macquarie, Shellharbour, Lismore

ECM Website

Dr Paul Hamor
P: 02 9382 2251
Adele Roberts
P: 02 9382 8881
Hunter Regional

John Hunter, Mater Newcastle, Armidale, Belmont, Maitland, Manning Base Taree, Tamworth, Wyong

Hunter Regional BPT Website

Dr Scott Jones
P:  02 4921 3000

Cheryl Brook
P: 02 4985 5406
Illawarra MedicalWollongong, Shellharbour, Bulli, Port Kembla

IMN Website 
Dr Elizabeth Clingan
P: 02 4253 4883
Shaynee Yarworth
P: 02 4253 4883

Liverpool, Fairfield, Tweed Heads

Liverpool BPT Website

Dr Hari Nandakoban
P: (02) 8738 8308
Kristine Soliman
P: (02) 8738 3239 
Northern Sydney Coastal Royal North Shore, Gosford, Northern Beaches, Lismore Dr Adrian Lee
P: 02 9463 1288
Kaavya Karunanithi
P: 02 9463 1288
Royal Prince Alfred

Royal Prince Alfred, Bankstown, Balmain, Dubbo, Bathurst,* Alice Springs

RPA BPT website

Dr Erin Vaughan
P: 02 9515 7692
Sue Alexander
P: 02 9515 6306
St George St George, Sutherland, Coffs Harbour, Shoalhaven, Wagga WaggaDr Kim Caldwell
P: 02 9113 2644
Jennifer Simmons
P: 02 9113 2644
St Vincent's South West St Vincent's, Campbelltown, Wagga Wagga

Dr Sara Wahlroos
P:  02 9355 5655

Emily Dupont
P:  02 8382 2934
Westmead Westmead, Blacktown, Mt Druitt, Hornsby, Orange Dr Andrew Henderson
P: 02 9845 7970
Billie Bridges
P: 02 8890 7945

Evaluating Education and Training in the Networks

Term Evaluations

Each term, every trainee is required to complete a term evaluation form and submit it to their Network Education Support Officer. This feedback is important for ensuring that trainees are able to provide feedback on education, training and supervision within their network. Term Evaluation feedback is used by the Networks to make necessary changes to their training program.

Progress Review

Progress review forms are completed at the end of each term (four times per year) by the term supervisors. These forms provide each trainee with important feedback on their performance throughout the term and are used as part of their ongoing appraisal. All progress review forms are reviewed by the Network Director of Physician Training.

The networks have adopted the RACP Ward Service Consultant Form.