NSW Prevocational Training Awards

The Geoff Marel Award is an annual prize that recognises the work of an individual who has made a substantial contribution to the education and support of prevocational trainees. The winner is then the NSW nomination for the Confederation of Postgraduate Medical Education Councils (CPMEC) Clinical Educator of the Year Award

The 2016 Geoff Marel Award was presented to Dr Logan Carroll from Port Macquarie Base Hospital. Dr Carroll was recognised for the highly regarded work she has done on behalf of Junior Medical Officers and in particular for her passion and committment to high quality and relevant education programs, concerns for the welfare of Junior Doctors and advocacy for the junior medical workforce.

Geoff Marel Award Winners

2015     Dr David Massasso

2014     Dr Allan Kelly

2013     Dr James Edwards

2012     Ms Christine Van Wamel

2011     A/Prof Michael Agrez

2010     Dr Steve May

2009     Dr Annette Britton

2008     Dr Scott Fortey

2007     Dr Ros Crampton

2006     Dr Ted Wu

2005     Dr Bruce Way

2004     Dr Jim Croker

2003     Dr Louis Christie

2002     Dr Peter Landau

2001     Dr Nicholas Ryan

2000     Dr Rosemary Sheehy

Queries regarding the Geoff Marel Award are directed to Prevocational Coordinator, Dawn Webb dawn.webb@health.nsw.gov.au